December 16, 2020

Announcing the appointment of Julie Zikherman as new chair of the DOM physician-scientist search committee

Dear Colleagues:

We’re pleased to announce that Julie Zikherman will assume the role of the chair of our DOM physician-scientist search committee. Julie will take over from Mark Anderson, who is stepping down as he assumes the role of interim director of the Diabetes Center.

Julie ZikhermanJulie is Associate Professor of Medicine, based in the UCSF Health Division of Rheumatology. Her research focuses on the immune system; in particular the mechanism of B cell responses to foreign antigens. The Zikherman lab takes a range of creative approaches that span mouse genetics, cellular immunology, and genomics.

The other members of the physician-scientist search committee are Joanne Engel, Suneil Koliwad, Averil Ma, Mary Nakamura, Suzanne Noble, Dean Sheppard, Qizhi Tang, and Jimmie Ye. Mark Anderson will also remain a committee member.

We thank Mark for his service in leading this important committee, and for assuming the role of interim chief of the Diabetes Center – the Center is a key partner to the DOM, and we look forward to growing our many collaborations. We also look forward to working with Julie to advance the work of this committee, which helps us identify and vet potential new additions to our physician-scientist community.

David Erle, MD
Associate Chair for Basic Research

Robert M. Wachter, MD
Professor and Chair, UCSF Department of Medicine
Lynne and Marc Benioff Endowed Chair in Hospital Medicine
Holly Smith Distinguished Professor in Science and Medicine