UCSF Department of Medicine offers 19 ACGME-accredited clinical fellowship subspecialty programs. Each year, approximately 370 residents conduct their fellowship training at UCSF's primary training sites, which include UCSF Medical CenterZuckerberg San Francisco GeneralSan Francisco Veterans Affairs Health Care System and UCSF Fresno.

Three Main Teaching Hospitals




Family Friendly

Living in San Francisco


For more information about each of our programs, please see the Fellowship websites.

ACGME Program Program Director
Addiction Medicine Paula Lum, MD
Adult Congenital Heart Disease Aarthi Sabanayagam, MD
Advanced Heart Failure & Transplant Cardiology Marc Simon, MD
Allergy and Immunology Morna Dorsey, MD, MS
Cardiovascular Disease (Core) Atif Qasim, MD
Clinical Cardiac Electrophysiology Joshua Moss, MD
Clinical Informatics Raman Khanna, MD, MAS
Endocrinology, Diabetes and Metabolism Madhu Rao, MD
Gastroenterology Priya Kathpalia, MD
Geriatric Medicine Pei Chen, MD
Hematology and Medical Oncology Gerald Hsu MD, PhD
Hospice & Palliative Care Carly Zapata MD, MPH
Infectious Diseases Jennifer Babik, MD, PhD
Interventional Cardiology Krishan Soni, MD
Nephrology Kerry C. Cho, MD
Occupational Medicine Residency Paul Blanc, MD
Pulmonary/ Critical Care Medicine James Frank, MD
Rheumatology Lianne S. Gensler, MD
Transplant Hepatology Courtney Sherman, MD


Non-ACGME Program Program Director
Academic Hospital Medicine Margaret Fang, MD
Advanced IBD Uma Mahadevan, MD
Bone Marrow Transplant Tom Martin, MD
Echocardiography and Advanced Imaging Ted Abraham, MD
General Internal Medicine (UC)-Clinician Educator Mike Cheng, MD
General Internal Medicine (ZSFG) Eleanor Bimla Schwarz, MD
Geriatric Research Training Medicine Alexander Smith, MD
HEAL/Global Health  Sriram Shamasunder, MD
HIV John Szumowski, MD, MPH
Integrative Medicine Anand Dhruva, MD
Interventional Cardiology Sammy Elmariah, MD, MPH
Interventional Pulmonary Ganesh Krishna, MD
Kidney Transplant Adrian Whelan, MD
National Clinician Scholars Program Hilary Seligman, MD
StARR Fellowship Allison Huang, MD
VA Health Professions Education  Bridget O’Brien, PhD
VA Heart Failure John Teerlink, MD
VA National Quality Scholars Program Victoria Tang, MD
VA Women’s Health Karla Kerlikowske, MD