Holly Smith Visiting Professorship

The annual Holly Smith Visiting Professorship is named for Lloyd Hollingsworth “Holly” Smith Jr., MD, a visionary physician-scientist whose uncompromising quest for excellence over a career spanning half a century helped transform UC San Francisco into the world-renowned health sciences university it is today. Smith, who passed away in 2018, served 35 years as chair of the Department of Medicine and associate dean in the UCSF School of Medicine.

Former Holly Smith Visiting Professors

Name Year
David Asch 2022
Mary Klotman 2019
Harlan Krumholz 2018
Katrina Armstrong 2017
Sanjay Saint 2016
Ashish Jha 2015
Gary Koretzky 2014
Eric Topol 2013
Lee Goldman 2012
Thomas Lee 2011
Robert Schrier 2010
Richard Lifton 2009
Christine Seidman 2008
Donald Wesson 2007
Dennis Ausiello 2006
Jordan Cohen 2004
Eve Slater 2003
Barry Coller 2002
D. Craig Brater 2001
Anthony Fauci 2000
Jerome Kassirer 1999
Michael Bishop 1998
Eugene Braunwald 1997
Daniel Foster 1996