ZSFG Primary Care Track: Our People

SFPC was founded in 1982 by Dr. Rick Haber with the vision to provide outstanding clinical training for a career in caring for underserved populations. Since then, our ZSFG-based program and division have grown from the number you see in the photo below to one with ~30 full-time clinical and research faculty and 24 dedicated primary care residents. Our faculty are committed to resident education, and most of them staff and precept in the Richard H. Fine People’s Clinic and other primary care clinics. Faculty are also actively involved in the didactic component of the SFPC curriculum, leading several longitudinal didactics series with topics ranging from QIPSL to SBIRT.

Our Faculty

  • Joan Addington-White, Program Director, SFPC
  • Soraya Azari, MD, Associate Program Director, SFPC
  • Lisa Ochoa-Frongia, MD, Associate Medical Director, Richard H. Fine People’s Clinic
  • Claire Horton, MD, MPH, Medical Director, Richard H. Fine People’s Clinic
  • Vanessa Thompson, MD, Associate Medical Director, Richard H. Fine People’s Clinic
  • Dean Schillinger, MD, Chief, Division of General Internal Medicine at ZSFG

Names below are listed alphabetically

  • Jessica Beaman, MD, MPH
  • Kirsten Bibbins-Domingo, MD, PhD, MAS
  • Andrew Bindman, MD
  • Robert Brody, MD
  • Maria Chao, DrPH, MPA
  • Alice Chen, MD, MPH
  • Anna Chodos, MD
  • Alicia Fernandez, MD
  • Valy Fontil, MD, MAS
  • Liz Goldman, MD, MAS
  • Reena Gupta, MD
  • Margaret Handley, PhD, MPH
  • Leigh Kimberg, MD
  • Margot Kushel, MD
  • Kate Lupton, MD
  • Courtney Lyles, PhD
  • Nynikka Palmer, DrPH, MPH
  • Neda Ratanawongsa, MD, MPH
  • Urmimala Sarkar, MD, MPH
  • Hilary Seligman, MD, MAS
  • Wagahta Semere, MD, MHS
  • Scott Steiger, MD
  • Rachel Stern, MD
  • Maya Vijayaraghavan, MD, MAS
  • Margaret Wheeler, MD

Current SFPC Residents



  • Meredith Adamo, MD (Brown)
  • Ilana Garcia-Grossman, MD (UCSF)
  • Andrew Kim, MD, MPhil (Harvard)
  • Raphaela Lipinsky DeGette, MD, MS (UCSF)
  • Daniela Maristany, MD (UCSF)
  • Andreas Mitchell, MD, MPP (Harvard)
  • Surabhi Nirkhe, MD (U Washington)
  • Dodie Rimmelin, MD, MPH (Harvard)



  • Elizabeth Abbs, MD (U Wisconsin)
  • Lurit Bepo, MD, MPH (Emory)
  • Leah Goodman, MD (UCSF)
  • Maggie Gray, MD (Vanderbilt)
  • Grace Hunter, MD, MBA, MSc (Stanford)
  • Saundra Nguyen, MD, MPH (U Texas Southwestern)
  • Drew Thompson, MD, MS (UCSF)
  • Neil Zhang, MD, MS (UCSF)



  • Joe Cartwright, MD, MEd (UCSF)
  • Sam Dickman, MD (Harvard)
  • Andrew Gardner, MD (U Michigan)
  • Scott Goldberg, MD (U Chicago)
  • Mike Incze, MD, MSEd (UC Davis)
  • John Landefeld, MD, MSEd (UCSF)
  • Tyler Mains, MD (Johns Hopkins)
  • Nadine Pardee, MD (Columbia)