Department Leadership

The University of California, San Francisco (UCSF) is a leading university dedicated to promoting health worldwide through advanced biomedical research, graduate-level education in the life sciences and health professions, and excellence in patient care.

It is the only UC campus in the 10-campus system dedicated exclusively to the health sciences. Sam Hawgood, MD, is UCSF chancellor and Talmadge King, MD, is the Dean of the School of Medicine and Vice Chancellor, Medical Affairs. Robert Wachter, MD, is the Chair of the Department of Medicine, which is the largest of the 28 academic departments within the School of Medicine.

The Department of Medicine is led by a Chair's Council and Senior Managers.